I don’t want to go church anymore!

Recently I was asked for my advice from a student about a waning interest and want to as far as church attendance goes. I want to honor the young person who wrote to me, so I won’t share names. But they made a profound statement. The student said, “I don’t want to go to church anymore.”

I don’t want to go to church anymore either. I know others far smarter than I have been writing about this for a long time, but it is time to change the way we talk about church. The church is not brick and mortar, it is the people of God living out God’s mission on earth.

Below is my response to a young Christian. I realize that more than just teens as making similar statements. Maybe, just maybe your asking the same question. If so, maybe you will re-discover the beauty of church once again!

I think all of us at times has the moments where going to be with the people of God every week gets stale. Some of that is normal.

But the church is important. Church is bigger than just a place or a pew, it’s a people who are on a mission from God. Church is about broken people coming together in community. Out of this brokenness we find meaning, healing, community, love and support. Church is a community of imperfect people trying to live out the gospel every day.

Because it is imperfect sometimes church can stink. But the regardless of the imperfection and her blemishes the church there in your town is a good group of people and the church needs you! You are an important piece in the puzzle of the body of Christ. So even when you don’t feel like going “to church,” remember you go there with other broken people to be put back together again. Your not going to a place, your going to meet a person. Jesus is present in our meetings! Don’t give up.

Church is never about us. It’s all about what God is doing in the world in and through Jesus. That is our story!

About Jason Retherford

The random musings of a youth minister.
This entry was posted in church, Theology, Youth Ministry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I don’t want to go church anymore!

  1. Rob Rice says:

    Wow Jason! You nailed it brother! Thanks for sharing this. I plan on passing it around a bit. 🙂
    Rob

  2. Kris says:

    Posted on my church FB page-Good stuff!

Leave a Reply

