Update

I have been doing full-time youth ministry since August of 2003 in Duncan, OK. I love the Chisholm Trail church of Christ, and the relationships formed and maintained with my students, and other members over my tenure is awesome. But, a new opportunity has come along. An opportunity I wasn’t really expecting. I will be leaving Duncan the end of October for Cincinnati, OH to begin serving the Northeast church of Christ there as their new Youth Minister.

I am more convinced of my calling to do Youth Ministry than maybe at any other time since I began. I love teaching teens about God’s great love in and through Jesus, and the new life that can be theirs. This story of God’s unfolding work in the world is what drives me. I am a part of that story and want others to join what God is doing in and through Jesus.

I love teenagers. They are full of passion, enthusiasm and idealistic. If young people catch even a small glimpse of the importance of Jesus’ inbreaking kingdom in the world than I believe that they will be compelled to do great things for him. I love watching kids get motivated to do something to alleviate suffering, feed the hungry, clothe the naked, care for the broken. I have tried to instill in my students here in Duncan a drive to be the hands and feet of Jesus in this community, at their schools, and when they are playing sports, or in band practice, or in Walmart. I love these kids. I will miss these kids.

But, as I begin anew, I will continue to point to Jesus and God’s inbreaking kingdom reign, and His great love for humanity, and our invitation to join his story. So, please pray for us, Chisholm and Northeast as we make this transition. As I think about our pending move, I am reminded that when we moved from Middletown, OH in August of 2003, Jen and I traveled across country with a 4 week old little girl. I don’t recommend moving across country with a newborn. It was rough!! But, as we prepare to leave, God has blessed us with two additional little girls. God has been faithful to us, has provided for us, cared for us, loved us, even when we were unlovable. God is good.

About Jason Retherford

The random musings of a youth minister.
This entry was posted in Stuff, Youth Ministry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

