The Compassion Center, prayer and humility

I am blessed to work with a group of believers in Duncan, Oklahoma who take very seriously the Lord’s example to care for the poor, the sick and the needy. One of the ways our community is served is through our congregation’s old facility. Back in 1993 two congregations merged to form the Chisholm Trail Church of Christ. And instead of selling the smaller of two buildings, our leadership then had the foresight to convert the property into a free medical clinic, clothes closet, and food bank. There really is an amazing group of volunteers who give of their time and love and serve those in need each and every week.

My role and involvement with the Compassion Center has been limited since I have been here since 2003. I do take our teens there once a month and we pray for and with any of the patients who have prayer requests. I like to challenge my teens to talk to strangers, it helps them articulate their faith and builds confidence in their understanding of the Lord’s work in this world and confidence in their ability to share their faith. Recently the Compassion Center has begun to offer a short weekly devotional message to those who are waiting for to see the doctor, or get prescriptions filled. November has been my month. I love this time, for about 15-20 minutes I have a captive audience and I get to share some of God’s Word.

You never know if what was shared has touched someone’s heart or not, but God says that His Word never returns void:

10 As the rain and the snow
come down from heaven,
and do not return to it
without watering the earth
and making it bud and flourish,
so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater,
11 so is my word that goes out from my mouth:
It will not return to me empty,
but will accomplish what I desire
and achieve the purpose for which I sent it. (Isaiah 55:10-11)

There was a woman last night who came up to after I spoke and wanted to visit with me. She is ten year survivor of breast cancer, and now has prostate cancer, and recently has buried her 2 year old grandson and her aging mother. Her life has bombarded with tragedy, and yet in the midst of death, gloom and poverty she is holding on to her hope in Christ. She said that the only thing she really has left is Jesus. She wanted me to pray for her, so we talked to God together. I was humbled by her great faith.

“Father, I know you are mindful of those who are like this woman, without any earthly possessions, but holding on to you as their only and everything. Lord, you are powerful and good, and merciful, and loving. I ask you to move in only the way you can for my new friend at the compassion center, and bless her in abundance with food, with shelter, with friends, and church family and with physical healing in her body. I don’t know if I will ever see her again, but Lord one day you will. Help us all to be like her, and hold stubbornly to the hope we have in you when our world’s crumble. In Jesus name, amen.”

 

About Jason Retherford

The random musings of a youth minister.
This entry was posted in church, Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

