Sometimes, as a dad, I think I am doing things right. Jennifer and I have been ever since the girls were newborn, have prayed and sung with and to them. I really believe that if you raise a child up in the way she should go, then the foundation you are laying will be very important for when get into Middle School and High School (cf. Pro 22:6). My oldest daughter, Rachel is 8. She loves to pray and her prayers have begun to move beyond a simple, “thank you for my family, and my toys, etc.,” to praying about the poor, the sick, and to become better doers of God’s Word. I am convicted when she prays. I want the same things, and I now she is watching everything I do and say. Rachel loves the Bible, and she has begun reading the book of Genesis in anticipation of LTC 2012. I have been challenging her to read a chapter a day. If she forgets, she forgets. As a 3rd grader, her homework load has doubled and she is a hard worker, and does good with her school work. One of the goals I have for our kids is that they will grow up loving and treasuring God’s Word. If the Bible becomes tedious now, she won’t want to read it when she grows up. When I was teaching school at a Private School, the principal would make kids copy by hand large chunks of Scripture. I never did agree with this punishment. Punishing kids by having them copy Bible passages, only associates pain, anger, and frustration with the Bible. The Bible is a book that is meant to be challenge, convict, change — yes, but I don’t ever want to have the Scriptures associated with punishment.

I opened by saying, that I sometimes do some things right. Some things. Certainly not all things. I get frustrated, have not so good moments, don’t always demonstrate the love I should, but my sincere desire is that my children will grow up loving God with all their heart, soul, mind and strength and loving their neighbors as themselves (cf. Matthew 22:37-40).

Every day is a “when you…” moment to infuse with the story of God’s work in the world (cf. Deut 6:5-8).

About Jason Retherford

The random musings of a youth minister.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

