couch potato’s can serve the Lord too!

A week ago today I took a spill at church camp and wound up with a broken foot. I was at camp for less than 24 hours, and was leaving almost as quickly as I got there. I never have enjoyed basketball, and now that I got hurt playing “knock-out,” I am not sure that I will ever be a big fan of basketball now. So, I spent last week at home on a couch in my living room with my foot elevated above my heart. I am not allowed to put any weight on my foot for 6 weeks.

Due to recent events, I missed our High School week of Camp. I was scheduled to be back at Camp this week for an all ages week. Then the week after next, I was supposed to go to Houston for our summer mission trip, then a week of vacation back to Ohio. But, since I am not able to do much I am re-planning my summer and learning a thing or two along the way.

First, I am learning how difficult it is to let go of having to have control of things. I am not totally helpless, but simple basic tasks that I used to take for granted now require help. My wife is great, she has taken the brunt of the grunt work. I am forever grateful for her care and her love for me. After a week of resting, I am beginning to get a sense of what it means to depend on others, and to depend on the Lord. I have spent a lot time in God’s Word, and I see now more than ever the importance of depending on God. He is faithful. He is good, and wants us to trust him. Discovering this truth hasn’t come easily. I am sure I will need reminding in the future.

Secondly, youth ministry and other things I am involved in are not so dependent on me that  they will die if I am not there. In other words, I am learning that I am not as important as I once thought. This discovery doesn’t diminish my understanding of the great value that I am in God’s sight. I know that I am re-created in Christ Jesus to do good deeds which he has prepared in advance (Eph 2:10). Ministry of any kind is bigger than any one person or ministry leader. Someone took my class last week for me in my absence, and this week with a few shifts here and there, someone has filled in for me for my class to. With our mission trip this summer, I am surrounded by a large group of faithful and awesome adults and teens that have been a couple times already to Impact that can pick up the pieces and run with the plan and do just fine without me. I don’t like admitting that I cannot do something. But, a broken foot and having to have help to take a shower, or get dressed, and prepare meals is teaching me about the importance of priorities.

Thirdly, a positive outlook is important. I guess I could have been swallowed up with self-pity and anger and just been a real bear. But, negativity is not conducive to healing, and why make the people around you, the one’s that love and care for you, miserable too? I am frustrated that my summer plans were changed. But, I want to make the most of this time. So, I am reading a lot. Here is my book list for next several weeks:

  • A Passionate Life
  • Confessions of Pastor
  • Loving the Church You Lead
  •  Out Live Your Life
  • Peace Maker
  • The Hunger Games
  • Out of the Question, into the mystery
  • two little books on counseling

I am a coach potato lately, and intend on making the most of it.

About Jason Retherford

The random musings of a youth minister.
This entry was posted in Lu-Jo, Random, Recommended Reading, Stuff, Youth Ministry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

