Josh Graves posted a great qoute from The Jesus I Never Knew:

“The might of the world, the most sophisticated religious system of its time allied with the most powerful political empire, arrays itself against a solitary figure, the only perfect man who has ever lived. Though he is mocked by the powers and abandoned by his friends, yet the Gospels give the strong, ironic sense that he himself is overseeing the whole long process. He has resolutely set his face for Jerusalem, knowing the fate that awaits him. The cross has been his goal all along. Now, as death nears, he calls the shots,” from The Jesus I Never Knew (241).

I am reminded over and over again that true victory comes by what appears to be utter defeat. The Son of God broken, humiliated, alone, crucified. He wins, and because He won the victory all of us who have journeyed to Calvary, have likewise won the victory.

Easter is coming, and may we relish in our journey and our  place in the story. A story that is continually transforming the lives of people. This defeat/victory of Christ paves the way for the defeat of despair, darkness, and brokenness in the world.

I am reminded of Chris Tomlin’s song, “I Will Rise.”
There’s a peace I’ve come to know
Though my heart and flesh may fail
There’s an anchor for my soul
I can say “It is well”

Jesus has overcome
And the grave is overwhelmed
The victory is won
He is risen from the dead

And I will rise when He calls my name
No more sorrow, no more pain
I will rise on eagles’ wings
Before my God fall on my knees
And rise
I will rise

There’s a day that’s drawing near
When this darkness breaks to light
And the shadows disappear
And my faith shall be my eyes

Jesus has overcome
And the grave is overwhelmed
The victory is won
He is risen from the dead

And I will rise when He calls my name
No more sorrow, no more pain
I will rise on eagles’ wings
Before my God fall on my knees
And rise
I will rise

And I hear the voice of many angels sing,
“Worthy is the Lamb”
And I hear the cry of every longing heart,
“Worthy is the Lamb”
And I hear the voice of many angels sing,
“Worthy is the Lamb”
And I hear the cry of every longing heart,
“Worthy is the Lamb”

And I will rise when He calls my name
No more sorrow, no more pain
I will rise on eagles’ wings
Before my God fall on my knees
And rise
I will rise

About Jason Retherford

The random musings of a youth minister.
This entry was posted in church, Theology and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

