my academic progress

Well, hopefully after this term is over at LCU, I will have 30 hours left towards my M.Div. I am planning on taking an internship course in the Summer. Summer’s are crazy, but hopefully I can knock this class out. Then in the Fall, I am planning on taking, American Church History and World Religions. I am sure both will be quite the reading intensive courses. But, hopefully going into the holidays this year, I will have 63 hours done, and looking for the light at the end of the tunnel.

I think back to when I started my grad. classes, and then I wanted to get a comprehensive education in Bible because I didn’t go to Bible college for my undergraduate. I am ashamed to admit it, but there was a time that I thought  I couldn’t be a minister if I didn’t have a Bible degree. I don’t think this is true anymore. If as Scripture teaches, the church is a “royal priesthood,” all of God’s people are ministers. I think my education is certainly a helpful tool, but there are a lot of overeducated bad ministers and a lot of undereducated good ministers that love Jesus and doing his work in this world. So, where does that leave me? I want to learn all I can, to help all I can, and be like Jesus all the time. Hopefully, someone won’t say of me… “he was well educated but he stunk as a minister.” I would rather here, “yeah, that boy loved Jesus with all of his heart, soul, mind and strength.”

About Jason Retherford

The random musings of a youth minister.
This entry was posted in Random, School, Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

