10 years and counting

Today is a new day. Yesterday’s failures are history. I choose this day to dwell in the mercy and grace of our Loving and Good God. I am a sinner redeemed by the blood of Jesus. I struggle day in and day out, sometimes I get knocked down, and other times I live in the victory. I feel like at times I should be farther along, and then I find myself in the midst of a storm. Is the way my walk will be forever? I have been a follower of Jesus for 10 years. I hope that the last 10 years have pointed others who are observing to the conclusion that I am mine no more, that I am Christ’s. I don’t feel like much progress has been made, sometimes I feel this way. I think about what I struggled with at the outset of my walk, and 10 years later there are still traces and sometimes giant stains of the old life. I am not perfect. My wife can testify to that, and yet somehow, the Bible promises us that for those who are in Christ Jesus are being conformed into Christ likeness. What an amazing thought. It gives me hope still to think that God isn’t through with me yet. His work is quite done. I don’t resemble Christ enough yet. I am encouraged by what God still has left to do in me. This journey is unlike any other. There is blessing, poverty, joy, love, hope, struggle, sin, tears, peace, patience, kindness, even more love, mercy, and grace. It is an incredible adventure to be able to follow Jesus. I want to be open everyday to his leading, to his words, and to do the works he has placed in front of me to do. I want to be his voice, and hands to my wife and daughters, to my church community, to my city. I want to be more like Jesus. I want to remember everyday, that the battle with sin has been won already at the cross, that I have a choice each day as to what kind of day I can have. I want to live in such a way that the kingdom of God is being seen. I want to help to extend the borders and boundaries of the kingdom. I want to be a place where heaven and earth overlap, and draw others into this incredible offer of life, forgiveness and hope.

About Jason Retherford

The random musings of a youth minister.
This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 10 years and counting

  1. Jeff Slater says:

    Good thoughts, Jason. May God richly bless you.

  2. Jason says:

    Thanks Jeff.

Leave a Reply

