John ramblings

Been reading a lot of the Gospel of John and have been absolutely enthralled. It is amazing how much I have missed. I am trying to be a more careful reader of Scripture. One of things that has stood out to me so far in my John class is that Jesus is framed throughout the fourth Gospel against a Jewish background. While, I have noticed before the tension that permeates the gospel between Jesus and “the Jews,” what I have recently come to see that has outstanded me has been that the author of the fourth gospel is portraying Jesus as the One who has come to fulfill/supersede all that came before. He is the fulfillment of the gift (Jn. 1:16).

got to go, my littlest one is trying to hijack my computer.

About Jason Retherford

The random musings of a youth minister.
This entry was posted in 1. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

