The Irresistible Revolution

If you haven’t read this book, you need to. If you have never heard of, then go and google it or buy one. Shane Claiborne, in the Irresistible Revolution steps all over toes, and our hearts in this book. I am a quarter of the way into it, and I can’t put it down. I am ashamed of how mundane I have allowed my faith to become.

Here is a quote from page 64:

“I think I have lost in the hope in the church,’ I confessed, broken hearted to a friend. I will never forget her response. ‘No, you haven’t lost hope in the church. You may have lost hope in Chrisianity or Christendom or all the institutions, but you have not lost hope in the church. This is the church [read the book to see what was being discussed].’ At least that moment, we decided to stop complaining about the church we saw, and we set our hearts on becoming the church we dreamed of.'”

I love the quote by Shane Claiborne here, for I too believe that the church is the hope of the world. Now, I know that some could say that, “no, Jesus is the hope of the world.” I would say you are right. But, I would also say, that the body of Christ, the church, is the physical representation of Jesus here on earth. We are his hands and his feet, his heart, his eyes, and voice. May we live up to our high calling and join the mission that we were intended for “17The scroll of the prophet Isaiah was handed to him. Unrolling it, he found the place where it is written:
18“The Spirit of the Lord is on me,
because he has anointed me
to preach good news to the poor.
He has sent me to proclaim freedom for the prisoners
and recovery of sight for the blind,
to release the oppressed,
19 to proclaim the year of the Lord’s favor.” (Luke 4:17-19)

If the church is the hope of the world, and I believe that it is. Why aren’t we healing hurts? Why aren’t we doing better at feeding the hungry? Why aren’t we doing better at rooting out poverty? Why are we Western Christians so wrapped up in our materialistic culture. Why do we think that if we have more stuff we are somehow more blessed than everyone else. What happened to the mentality that the last shall be first, and blessed are the poor in spirit? Why do we in American churches turn a blind eye to the needs around us, around our church buildings, around our nation? If the church is the hope of the world, than it is time we rise up to our calling and get busy learning what it means to be the church (the hands, feet, and heart of Jesus in our world).

About Jason Retherford

The random musings of a youth minister.
This entry was posted in church, Culture, Recommended Reading, Theology. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Irresistible Revolution

  1. rustypants says:

    his newest book, jesus for president, is quite good, too. i’m about halfway through that one. i appreciate that he doesn’t just talk about what others ought to do – he’s making a strong effort at living it himself and trying to be a catalyst for change (or at least, different thinking).

    scott (not rus)

  2. Scott,

    jesus for president was the title of his lesson he gave at a conference i went to in Jan. he certainly does make a good case to think differently and helping some of us to do so too. i didn’t meant to call you rus, I meant to type rust. i will just call you scott.

  3. malea says:

    I read this book last month. A young kid I met in Uganda told me about it. I thought it was an amazing book as well.

    -Malea

Leave a Reply

