Living sticker book

Sunday morning during worship, my oldest daughters and I were sitting together in a pew, and well, they were busy coloring and playing. My oldest found a sticker book, and began sticking me with cute heart shaped stickers! My middle daughter joined the fun and by this time I was a sticker stricken soul, and my oldest had to go to the bathroom, so as I walked her to the potty, everyone sitting behind us got a good chuckle as we walked by because I was covered with stickers.

I am so grateful to have been given three beautiful healthy girls. I try so hard as a dad to model Jesus and his love, and I often fail. Being a dad is tough work. I realize that the way they view God as Father is being lived out in the way I live before them. So, I pray every day for the kingdom rule of God over my relationships.

We pray together as a family, read Scripture together, attend worship together. My oldest and I talk all the way to school about cool stuff, I am constantly looking for the teachable moment, mindful of Deuteronomy 6.  Rachel is already talking about being a Christian, and how she wants to be one like mommy and daddy. I am also trying to subvert the vocabulary that has been handed down to me the last ten years as a Christian. Let me explain, I think one of the greatest curses, maybe the greatest curse upon the church has been the “church” building. So, I want my girls to grow up thinking in terms of the church as the people, not the building. Rachel is already getting it. I will ask her, what the church is, and she says, the “church is the people, not the building.”

Maybe God is using me afterall?

About Jason Retherford

The random musings of a youth minister.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Living sticker book

  1. Doug Oakes says:

    That’s awesome. I wish I could have seen you walking out of the auditorium on Sunday. I definitely would have laughed a bit at your expense.

    What a beautiful testimony has already been given to you by Rachel…that she would desire in her young heart to grow up as a Christian “like mommy and daddy.” I hope I get to hear those words someday from my little girl. Thanks for sharing…keep on sharing your life…you are making a difference.

  2. Heather Kinsey says:

    Jason,
    That is absolutely wonderful that Rachel wants to be like her “mommy” and “daddy”. You guys are doing a wonderful job in teaching her about God.

    We miss you guys so much and miss watching the girls grow and their vocabulary grow as well.

    Love you bunches,
    Heather, Jeff, Abby, And Christopher

  3. Floroskop says:

    Hello!
    I think this try.

Leave a Reply

