the countdown begins: 4 days

I know Christmas is behind us. I am counting down the days until my wife load our van and head to Atlanta for NCYM, the National Conference on Youth Ministries. We attended our first conference back in January of 2004. I had been in youth ministry all of four months, and our church let us go to NCYM. It was amazing. Since that first time to the conference, the week in January when we get away is a time of recharging. This year is extra special to us. We weren’t going to be able to go at all, and actually canceled our hotel room for the week and resigned ourself to wait until 2009. But, then the closer the final registration deadline approached the more uneasy I became with the thought of not going. So, through the generosity of some dear friends, Dec. 31, we are planning on rolling out of town and stopping in Memphis and then on to Atlanta. We will be traveling some 925 miles plus to the conference with our three daughters. Thank God for HSM 2, and Barbie movies!

We are coming to Atlanta, because more than ever our batteries are depleted. It has been a tough year for us emotionally, spiritually, and materially. We are coming to see what God has in store for us. I am in need of healing, and need to be reminded of my calling. I know other guys and gals wrestle with their calling, this year has been all about trying to hear the calling. I am worried that either my ears are clogged, or I am God-deaf. I need this conference this year.

In years past, God has done some remarkable things in and through the conference. Will this year be any different? I pray no!

About Jason Retherford

The random musings of a youth minister.
This entry was posted in NCYM, Youth Ministry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

