David: King Sinner!

I believe that as the Scriptures say that in the waters of baptism, I died to sin and was raised to walk in the newness of life. I believe that baptism is a visible expression of my faith in the work of Christ on the cross. If baptism is a death, burial and resurrection and retells the gospel (Rom. 6; Gal. 3:26-26; 2 Cor. 5:17; Col. 2:12), why do I live sometimes contrary to this new-ness? Why do I feel that after almost 10 years of the journey I am making so little progress? A question I  struggle with daily is can people see Jesus in me? Am I  becoming less and he becoming greater?

Today I was reading in 2 Samuel 11 and 12 and it is hard not to get sucked into this story. David was where he shouldn’t of been, but there is no indication in the text that he intentionally decided that the day he looked longingly at Bathsheba that he woke that morning thinking, “today I am going to ruin my life.” I think there is spiritual warfare employed that we know to much about. Though the text doesn’t say that  Satan was looking for a way to destroy David, don’t you know he was? The tool employed against David was circumstance. He was in the wrong place, at the right time and wound up doing the wrong thing. How many of us have been there too? 

After David’s horrendous ordeal and his attempt at a cover-up, he is confronted by the prophet Nathan and David confesses and repents and pens the words of Psalm 51 as his prayer of forgiveness. David knew his only hope in this world was to find the mercy of God and he pursues his Father’s compassion relentlessly.

Oh, that we would learn from David and after we stumble, let us return to the God of all comfort and compassion. Let us live in the assurance of forgiveness and that we are being made new everyday!

About Jason Retherford

The random musings of a youth minister.
This entry was posted in Helpful Places. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

